You can access the User Manager by clicking on the User Manager icon in the Control Panel, or by clicking on 'User Manager' in the 'Site' menu on the back-end of your Joomla! installation.
In this screen you have the ability to look at a list of your users and sort them in different ways. You can also edit and create users.
In the table containing the users from your Joomla! site, you will see different columns. Here you can read what they mean and what is displayed in that column.
Checkbox. You can select this box to select an item. You will need to do this for several actions, including editing and deleting.
Name. The (full) name of the user.
Username. The username of the user is displayed here. When a user wants to log in, he has to fill in this username.
Logged in. In this column, you can see whether the user is logged in or not. A green check is shown when the person is currently logged in. The column is left blank when the user is logged out.
Enabled. In this column you can see whether the user is enabled or disabled. A green check is shown when the user is enabled, a red 'X' sign when the user is disabled. A disabled user did not activate their account by clicking on the link in the e-mail sent after registration. A disabled user could also be a user who was blocked by an Administrator or a Super Administrator. Click on the icon to toggle between enabled and disabled.
Group. The user's Group. The following Groups are available:
Registered User: Normal visitors who register at the site. Can view Menu Items that have Access Level of Registered. Cannot edit or submit articles.
Author: Can submit new articles for approval in the front end only. A Publisher or higher must approve. Cannot edit existing articles.
Editor: Can submit new articles or edit existing articles from the front end only. A Publisher or higher must approve.
Publisher: Can submit, edit, or publish articles from the front end only.
Manager, Administrator and Super Administrator: Can do all of the above plus can log into the back end with increasing rights.
E-Mail. The e-mail address from the user is displayed here.
Last visit. Here you can see the date on which the user last logged in.
ID. Here you can see the ID number. You can not change this number.
At the top right you will see the toolbar:
The functions are:
Logout. Select one or more users who are currently logged in and click on this button. The users will loose there logged in status.
Delete. Select one or more and click on this button. The selected will be deleted.
Edit. Select one and click on this button. You will enter the Edit page.
New. Click on this button to create a new one. You will enter the New page.
Help. Open this Help Screen.
Click on the name of a user to edit the user's properties.
Click on the e-mail address of a user to send this user an e-mail.
Click on the green check or red 'X' in the Enabled column to toggle between Enabled and Disabled status.
Click on the Column Headers to sort the users by that column, ascending or descending.